Allow Media at Trump “Free Speech” Event

Target: Neal Smatresk, President of the University of North Texas

Goal: Allow the media to cover Donald Trump Jr.’s free speech event at the University of North Texas.

Donald Trump Jr. is banning the media from a speech about free speech. Trump’s speech at the University of North Texas (UNT) will be closed to all local media outlets.

It is ironic that Trump and UNT would ban the media, protected under the First Amendment, from reporting on a speech about the First Amendment. Meanwhile, the media was allowed to attend previous years’ speeches at the college.

Trump is set to make over $100,000 from this speech, a speech that the public will not be allowed to hear. Sign the petition and ask the school to distribute press passes to the public, or revoke Trump’s invitation if he does not agree to let the media attend.


Dear President Smatresk,

Donald Trump Jr. is banning the media from reporting on a speech he will be making at your university. You have supported this by not giving media passes to local outlets. Ironically, this speech is about free speech.

I ask that you invite local media outlets to hear Trump speak, and to share his words with the public. If Trump is going to speak of free speech, he must respect the free press. Open up the free speech event to the media.


[Your Name Here]

Photo Credit: Gage Skidmore

Sign the Petition

  • Upgrade to sign 100's of petitions with one-click and feed shelter animals.
  • Only your name will be displayed. By signing, you accept our terms and may receive updates on this and related causes.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
FacebookCare2 NewsTwitterEmailShare


  1. Do Not STOP the Media from Reporting at Trump Jr. Speech at the University of North Texas! Ever heard of FREEDOM OF SPEECH?!

  2. I don’t kmow why anyone would even want to listaen to this dolt speak, but we all have the right to monitor his inept nonsense.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Facebook Comments


514 Signatures

  • Freya Harris
  • Rick Easton
  • Izumi Ogawa-Schulz
  • Maaike Van de Pijpekamp
  • patricia calebrese
  • Rachel Speed
  • Elizabeth Kirby
  • laura odonnell
  • Linda Meyers
  • Randall Lloyd
1 of 51123...51
Skip to toolbar