Applaud Decision to Fine Petroleum Company $159.5 Million for Oil Spill

Target: Judge Carl Barbier, U.S. District Court

Goal: Praise decision to fine Anadarko Petroleum Corp for 2010 Gulf of Mexico oil spill.

Although he did not find Anadarko Petroleum Corp at fault for the largest oil spill off U.S. shores, Judge Carl Barbier fined the company for its proportionate stake in the Gulf of Mexico disaster. Anadarko has been ordered to pay $159.5 million, which equates to $50 per barrel of the oil that poured into the Gulf of Mexico’s waters on Apr. 20, 2010, killing the ocean’s ecosystem and its dwelling sea life. A deep water oil rig explosion also caused the death of 11 workers.

In his 34-page decision, Barbier reprimanded the company for representing a part of the “polluting enterprise” that caused the disastrous oil spill, and he felt that the fine adequately represented the “extreme seriousness of this spill.” More decisions such as these must be made in our fight against oil drilling and its catastrophic effects to our environment. Let’s thank Judge Barbier for fining Anadarko Petroleum Corp.


Dear Judge Barbier,

I am writing to say thank you for fining Anadarko Petroleum Corp $159.5 million for its proportionate stake in the Apr. 20, 2010 Gulf of Mexico oil spill. I understand that you did not find Anadarko at fault for this horrific disaster, but I remain appreciative of your assessment of its overall role in it.

Although not at fault, Anadarko remained a participant in the Gulf of Mexico oil drilling, which we all know poses a serious threat to our environment. The Apr. 20, 2010 disaster not only proved how detrimental oil drilling is to our ecosystem, it also proved how detrimental it is to human life.

I appreciate you for taking a stand against all companies involved in this disaster and fining Anadarko accordingly.


[Your Name Here]

Photo Credit: Louisiana GOHSEP

Sign the Petition

  • Only your name will be displayed. By signing, you accept our terms and may receive updates on this and related causes.
FacebookCare2 NewsTwitterEmailShare

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Facebook Comments


585 Signatures

  • alessandro verzola
  • Carri Welsh
  • Nikki Owen
  • Lea Faulks
  • Anita Dunhill
  • Amber Lee
  • Nitzan Steiman
  • Darlene Roepke
  • Christy Hanna
  • Lynn Juozilaitis
1 of 59123...59
Skip to toolbar